Skip to content

7 Minute Work Out

September 14, 2015

mzl.oyljxfjm

I’m baaaack!

I can’t believe its been two years since my last post! Pardon my tardiness 🙂

As you can imagine a lot has happened since then and I have lots to share!

I figured I would dedicate this post to the one thing that I have been committed to this past few years, and that is running and fitness. It started out with a  5k and then the next thing you know I’m training for my second marathon. I was addicted to the high that I felt after a run and I wanted more and more.  I was on a roll but then eventually, like most runners, I got injured. I learned the hard way that the more miles you put in, the more your body needs to adjust to those changes. I was doing plenty of running, but not enough strengthening and conditioning.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret…I don’t enjoy working out (ironic right?). I am one of those people who will go to the gym and pretend to work out, but I’m really checking my cell phone the entire time. I also hate paying a lot of money to work out at gym or fitness studio. If you can afford it awesome, but lets face it a lot of people shell out a ton of money for a  gym membership and never really use it. Why? Because the machines are intimidating and the majority of us don’t know what workouts to do once we get there. I call the elipitical the “default machine” because that’s what most people turn to when in doubt.

After I got injured I found myself so confused and overwhelmed as to what to do next. I knew I had to get my body stronger but I had no idea where to begin. I decided to pay a visit to a physical therapist in  town and it was the best decision I ever made. She gave me about 5-6 take home exercises and  told me to do them three or four times a week. This regime was right up my ally because it did not require any fancy equipment, just my body weight…Another bonus was that the entire exercise routine only lasted about 15 minutes. After a month went by not only did my injury go away, I also started to notice amazing results on my body well. So I’m here to tell you today that you don’t need an expensive gym membership, and you don’t need to spend hours working out everyday. All you need is 7 minutes and a mat! That’s it! And because I’m such a nice person I’m  going to give you those exact same exercises that you need to do in order to keep your body trim and in shape.

These two videos below guide you through every workout and its even timed (with rests in between) so you don’t have to time it yourself. The first video is a 7 minute strength workout…it says its for runners but anyone can use it. The exercises consist of planks, lunges and bridges which is great for the entire body.The next video is a 7 minute workout just for your butt. I chose the butt simply because that’s where my fat seems to store itself the most. If you are interested in more quick at home workouts that target a different area then visit Grokker.com, because they have a ton!

As I mentioned earlier I’m currently training for my second marathon so I do these workouts twice a week in order to run stronger and prevent injury. Even when I’m not training for a race I still find myself doing these exercises because they are so quick and easy to do. I’ve found that a little bit goes a long way and you will too once you start incorporating these workouts into your daily routine.

Let me know how it works! Leave a comment below

-Erin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

