Skip to content

Makin’ Moves

July 13, 2013

tumblr_mpehm63DvG1qaobbko1_500

So much can happen in a year…As I’ve mentioned, to this day I still write in my diary so looking back on where I was versus where I am now is very easy. At the end of every year I try to reflect upon the things that worked for me, and also the things that I need to work on. This of course is a difficult thing to do because you might end up having to admit to yourself that you need to make a change.

Change is a good thing but its also scary as hell. After looking back in my old diary, I noticed that when I was in my twenties I constantly craved change. I was a bit of a “commitment-phobe” back then.. always on the look out for something better. My mind kept telling me “this can’t be it.. there’s just got to be more to life…”

Its funny how you grow up a little and you begin to realize that everything you need is right in front of you. The searching can end or at least slow down a bit. I used to look at it in a negative way and felt it was settling, but now I look at it as an accomplishment. When you can get to a point where you feel secure and comfortable with the life that you have created without feeling the urge to always recreate it then you are doing something right.

Of course, we all get that feeling in the back of our minds that we are wasting time, not “living it up”, or fulfilling our utmost desires and dreams. In my opinion we don’t give ourselves enough credit for accomplishing the goals that we set and actually achieve. To me, that’s living your life to the fullest. Asking for what you want and having it come back to you is a gift…It can be a big dream or a small dream… it can come right away or it can come late… it doesn’t matter- all that matters is that you have it and its yours.

As I’ve grown up the need for change has lessoned, I feel like I’m finally settling into the world I have created. Yes, there are still a few things that I need to check off of my ” to-do list.” but I’ve reached a point in my life where I can actually look at the items that are already checked off..and I can smile and say “I did it.”

Recently, I was finally able to check off something that’s been on my list for a very long time. Its been a dream of mine to move to Hoboken and next month (August) I will be moving from Montclair and into Hoboken. This is an example of a change that didn’t happen for me right away, but it happend and it was meant to be. If you open up my diary to last August 2012 I specifically jotted down: “I don’t know, I just feel like this town will be part of my life one day.”

So much can happen in a year… I wonder what next summer will be like?

So long Church Street…

Hello Clinton St. 🙂

Clinton St. Hoboken

Clinton St. Hoboken

6391995725_f816f9219c_o

Montclair Church Street

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

