Skip to content

What’s “SUP?”

September 2, 2012


I’m going through serious withdrawal right about now… Vacation is officially over and pretty soon I will be reporting back to work. I can’t complain though, I had an awesome summer. I just got back from Aruba a few days ago and had a nice, relaxing time. I also got to do the one thing I’ve been wanting to try and that is Stand Up Paddle Boarding (aka “SUP”).

SUP’ing originated in Hawaii in the early 1960s, and now it’s considered one the fastest growing water surf activities because it’s so easy to learn! Aruba was a perfect place to try stand up paddle boarding. The water was warm and shallow- it was a little windy, but the wind carried my board gracefully through the sea. My instructor, Jeremy was a really cool guy. I was envious of the fact that his office is basically a little hut and the ocean; not a bad way to make a living if you ask me. The instruction part of the lesson literally lasted five minutes; I was on my board and in the water in no time. 

The first thing I couldn’t help but notice was how much of a core work out I was getting. I was using almost every muscle in my body to steer the board. It took me a few minutes to get used to the paddling part…one false move and you would veer off in the wrong direction.  The key to staying balanced and  not falling is to never look down! Focus on the horizon and what’s front of you and it will be a smooth ride. I only fell off the board one time so I was proud of myself for that.  Once I got going it felt great! It was like a floating form of meditation-very peaceful and relaxing, an activity I’m certain I will try again.

This summer was most definitely a fulfilling one. I tried new things, met new faces, gained new passions, and let go of some old habits. I made a promise to myself to not let the weather change stop me from doing all of the things I enjoyed these past few months. I signed up for a training program this fall with Fleet Feet Sports to take my running to the next level. Who knows maybe this time next year I’ll be writing to you about how I finished my first half marathon! It’s a daunting thought, but I’ll just have to keep reminding myself to Focus on the horizon and what’s front of you and it will be a smooth ride…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

