Skip to content

All Things New

June 10, 2012

I’m a  Sagittarius

Individuals born under this zodiac sign are normally characterized as “free-spirits,” always on the move, independent, and adventurous. Yep, that’s me…

I was never the type of person who liked sticking to a routine… I get bored very easily so trying out new things is like a breath of fresh air. We are all guilty at some point in our lives of getting “stuck.” Waking up everyday at the same time, going to work, coming home, fixing dinner, going to the gym, watching TV, going to bed, waking up again…. then repeat cycle.

How often do we step outside of our comfort zones to try new things? And I’m not talking about a new salad dressing…I’m taking about things that at first glance might seem foreign to us,  or even scary…

I came across a really great quote the other day and it said “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”  This got me thinking a bit, and it’s true that some of the greatest moments of my life have stemmed from some form of doubt and fear that was inside of me. It also got me thinking that I could stand to take even more risks in my life…

About seven months ago, I turned 3o years old , and in these past few months a lot has happened. Without even realizing it I’ve been experiencing quite a few “Firsts.”

I adopted my first pet…

I went skiing for the first time

I coached softball for the first time

I ran my first 5k race

I saw a psychic for the first time

I ate Nutella for the first time

But wait, there’s more! About a week ago, I  witnessed my first historical  moment when I happened to be at a Mets game, and the first no-hitter in the teams history was thrown by pitcher Johan Santana… I think that was just luck, but it was still a pretty cool “first.”

Trying something new for the first time doesn’t have to be a huge event….it can start out small and grow into something more than you thought it would bring.  I’ve always found that when you start integrating more new experiences into your life – no matter how small they may seem – it will bring you joy, contentment, and fullness. Although I am an adventurer at heart, I still need to remind myself that change is a good thing… after all, it is the only way we will ever truly grow 😉


Leave a Reply

