Skip to content

Write it Down Watch it Come True

September 8, 2011

I’m really big on writing things down…especially when it comes to my dreams and wishes .

Don’t believe me? Well for starters I’ve  kept a diary ever since I was 12 years old (that’s 18 years and counting…yikes!).

When I really want a wish to come true I will write it down on post-it notes and stick them in my room so I can see it everyday as a reminder. I started doing that about two years ago and cannot tell you how much it really works!

Here’s the catch: you cant just write it down…its a little more complex than that. You have to visualize and actually believe in what you wish for. For example, if you really want a new car you would write down the EXACT make, model, and color. The next step is to picture yourself driving it. If you want to take it the next level… visit the dealership and actually sit in the car; close your eyes and pretend its yours until…. well, its actually yours.

I did something similar to that when it came to getting my current apartment. I knew my building was not easy to get into, but I was determined to live there. Every chance I could get I would walk down my street, sit outside on one of the benches; I’d picture myself coming home from work and walking into the building etc…So I wasn’t surprised when I called to inquire about a 1 bedroom and the landlord said “your in luck we have a opening.” I’ve come to realize that when you really want something it involves:

1.) asking for it

2.) being absolutely clear about it

3.) believing you can get it and/or you already have it.

If you are familiar with the Law of Attraction movement or the book “The Secret.” Then you know where I got this idea from.

I have a new “wish list” that I recently came up with and I wanted to do a little experiment to see if my theory of writing it down still holds true… If/when my current wishes come to life  I will give an update about it on my blog!

In the meantime, try it yourself!

If you’d rather express your wishes in another form then try what’s called a Vision Board. Instead of using words you can use pictures to create a collage of all your desires.

Either way this is a great exercise that has brought me  positive results and I hope it does the same for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

