Skip to content

Going Green-way

August 5, 2011

If you love to walk, run, jog, cycle, or roller blade… then you might want to try the Manhattan Waterfront Greenway  as your next outdoor adventure.

The  Greenway is 32 miles long and runs along the waterfront of either the Hudson River or the East River. It circumnavigates through Brooklyn, Queens and Bronx on the East River side and New Jersey on the Hudson River side.  A map of the complete route is shown here.

Not only do you have the luxury of having a open road, but you also get fantastic views along the way!

A few days ago I decided to dust off the old bike and go! This would be the second time I biked the path and it was just as beautiful as I remembered it. I parked my car in a garage near Wall Street, plugged in the ipod and started my journey. I chose to listen to Dave Matthews Band’s Live in Central Park for the first half of my ride…It was warm outside but not unbearable. I kept going and going and before I knew it I was already in midtown! I rode for a little while longer but I turned around when the thought of hitting lunchtime traffic on the way home entered my mind. For the return trip I switched my music to “Daft Punk” for a more up-tempo ride. During this whole time nothing really mattered.. I was able to tune out the rest of world and take in the beauty around me.

Here are some pictures I took along the way…

Click to Englarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

Click to Enlarge

I also stopped for a little snack 🙂

Remember, if you decide to bike the Greenway make sure that you plan your route prior to going especially if you are not familiar with the city. There are tons of maps that you can find online that are easy to download. If you don’t have a bike… no worries, you can rent one!  Places like Bike & Roll even offer guided tours!

No matter what route you decide to take you are sure to find hidden gems along the way… You get to see another side of New York  you might have not seen before.

This Sunday I’m heading back into the city for another adventure… It will be interesting to say the least.

I’m not giving any hints you’ll just have to wait and see 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 8:59 am

    id love to go to manhattan 🙂
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

