Skip to content

Lazy Summer Day

July 21, 2011

I’m Baaaack!

Yes, it’s been awhile… BUT I have a perfectly good reason for not updating my blog for over a year! 😉

Basically life happened and  I got a little distracted, but now my feet are planted I am ready to share my journey!…So let me fill you in on what I’ve been doing for the past year. Well for starters I got my Master’s degree. I got a job and I am now working full-time as a school counselor in an awesome district! I love my new career, and for the first time in years I can say “this is where I belong.”

I moved, and I’m living in a great neighborhood on a street that is situated in the center of just about everything. My apartment is like my little sanctuary. Whenever I come home a sense of calm always rushes through me.

Here are Before and After Pics of my living room…

Thanks to many hours spent watching HGTV I think it came together nicely 🙂

Lets see what else? I’ve met new people made new friends and crossed off a few items on my bucket list. Visit the Grand Canyon (check!) own a convertible (check!) Go to Las Vegas gamble and win (check and check!)

So you could say a lot has changed in the past year. Change for the better… I’m much happier than I was before. Life has slowed down for me in a way, but I’m making more progress when it comes to attaining my goals and living out my dreams. If you know me well then you know this is not the end. There is still more to be done but I’ll save that for another post.

Anyway, lets get back to why I decided to return to the blogosphere all of sudden? Well, for one thing its the summer… and for the first time in years I’m not working!! DUN DUN DUN. (Yea, I can’t believe it either).

I had every intention of working, I even applied for this summer job at my school…When that didn’t come through I began to realize that this might be the first time in years I can sit back and do absolutely nothing. I wasn’t used to that; the concept seemed so foreign to me because ever since I graduated from college I’ve been on the grind… hustling for job was all I knew.

So I put it in the back of my mind for the rest of June and the beginning of July. Everything was great! I was hanging out, going to the beach, playing golf, walking, going to yoga class, going to bed late/waking up late, catching up on TV shows via On Demand. Then all of a sudden I got the “itch” again. The itch to work…

There’s a Gelato shop  next door to my apartment building so I decided one day  to inquire about a part-time job. I was so excited when the owner said he could squeeze me in a few days. I mean what better gig to have than to roll out of my bed  and downstairs to serve ice-cream to people for a couple of hours!? Boy was I wrong… Things got a little weird when it became clear the owner hired me only because he wanted to date me. UGH! I was pissed to say the least but I also took it as a sign… Why can’t I just relax and enjoy my time off? Why do I feel obligated to work when I really don’t have to right now? I have money saved up so what’s the problem?

I was so used to work work work that when it was gone I didn’t feel right. I felt unproductive…But in reality that was far from true. I’ve been extremely productive these past two years…heaven forbid I wasn’t productive for two months!  When you really stop to think about it for a second what’s wrong with sleeping until noon, going to the driving range, and taking a dip in the pool as a daily routine? I’m  sure going to miss that come September when my phone is ringing off the hook and I have to write letters of recommendation… I’m finally at a point in my life where I can sit back and reap the benefits of all my hard work . Next summer I’m sure I’ll find something to do whether it be work or travel…but for now I’m throwing in the towel… call me “Lazy Day” all you want I don’t care, I deserve it dammit 😉

Leave a Reply

